Raydium 3D Game Engine

Official forum for everything about Raydium, ManiaDrive, MeMak, ...
It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Blender to tri
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:39 pm
Posts: 5
I have a problem when exporting a blender project to a tri file. (The problem is me, I don't know how to work with blender)

Example:
In object mode, I export to tri the default blender project (the cube without textures), and when I use raydium to show the cube, the result is something like this:
Image

(I must say that I didn't follow completely the instructions in your wiki, because some shortcuts didn't work).

I am using a default blender 2.44 installation for linux.

Thank you for any help you can give,
dionet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
When exporting blender to tri you should remember a few things:
    -You have to export only triangles, not quads. For that, enter in edit mode in each object and press control+t.
    -You have to apply transformations. For that, in object mode, press alt+a
    -The normals has to be always pointing to the outside. In edit mode, select all the faces, and in the button tab, at the right(Standard layout) and press Draw -Normals. All should point(blue) to the exterior. If someone point inwards, flip it by hand.
    -The semi-transparent textures won't work in certain objects. Make sure, in Gimp, the texture has alpha 0 or 100, but not intermediate values.


Last edited by vicentecarro on Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
Hi,

Quote:
(I must say that I didn't follow completely the instructions in your wiki, because some shortcuts didn't work).

It could be interesting to know which one :) (so we can update the wiki)

It seems that your model was not triangulated before the export. The log in the console could help you to see such troubles.
You can go in edit mode, select all vertices (A key), triangulate the model (CTRL+T) and get back to object mode. It should do the trick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:39 pm
Posts: 5
When I do CTRL+T nothing happens, is that normal?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
I've just done the test with the 2.44 : CTRL+T is still the shortcut to convert faces to triangles. You should see the faces of your cube cuted, like this:
Image

Have you selected all vertices (selected color is yellow) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:39 pm
Posts: 5
Thank you, it works now :D

The problem is that I was deselecting vertices instead of selecting :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
OK, nice. Could you say more about the non working shortcuts you found on the wiki ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:39 pm
Posts: 5
They still work, for example, the Ctrl+T that didn't work was because I was not selecting vertices.

Sorry, but I have another question.

When I do Ctrl+T on some models it will only triangulate the selected part. (For example, in a house project, it will only triangulate the selected window)

Is there any way to select all objects? When I press A, it only selects the selected object :?.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
No, you must triangulate objects one by one. A trick could be to join all objects just before the export (do not save this after, or you'll save only one big object):
In object mode, select all objects (A, they must all become pink), an join them with CTRL+J.

That's it.

As a side advice: get a few tutorials about Blender, it will make your life ... better ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:39 pm
Posts: 5
Ok, thank you again.

Yes, I will read some tutorials and I will stop asking questions about blender here ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blender to tri
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:31 am
Posts: 12
Hi,

I do also have problems with the Export Script.
As vicentecarro said I applied the transformations, and this didn't work at all.
Just the resize information is applied in the exported tri-file, the position is still at the center of all axis.
I have also triangulated the planes but same effect...
And the normals just can point to the exterior, because its a plane :)

So what is the problem?

greetz matzze


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Blender to tri
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
Not sure to understand your message, you should add way more informations when reporting a trouble.

Are you using the latest export script ? (triEXP-full.py)
If yes, have you checked "Save Object Pos" option ?

And I don't get your sentence about normals. You know that a plane have two different normal vectors, did you ? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group