Raydium 3D Game Engine

Official forum for everything about Raydium, ManiaDrive, MeMak, ...
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:54 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: win32 SDK and locales
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
I've just realized that with win32 SDK, ManiaDrive is always using English language instead of the current locale. The reason is that raydium/locale directory should be in "bin" as well.

There's no emergency, but could it be possible to update the SDK to find a nice solution to this ? (which I'm unable to think of, currently)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:46 pm
Posts: 759
Hello,

There is a big problem with this.

We already handle this with php script. Solution was to add ..\raydium dir in php script search path. This is not a really good solution.

Idealy binaries need to be in raydium directory. php scripts and locales are then correctly located.
2 drawbacks:
- pollution of raydium directory with binaries / dll / media files / other php scripts that increase svn commit mistake.
- difficulty to separate several projects, all files from several projects are in the same dir.

Actually binaries / mediafiles and other (dll) are in a specific bin directory.
This is correct (at least for me) but effectivly the is a problem when updating raydium directory to propagate php scripts at least to bin dir.
This is handled by a simple batch file, runned manually (tricky for beginners).

Last point there are no really symbolic links on windows (as far as i know).

My solution:
- copy with the same script used for php scripts, from local dir to bin dir.
- add ..\raydium to locale search path.

waiting for feedback before acting.

Have a nice day.
Ouille


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 8:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
My conclusions are the same as yours.

I think I would prefer the first one (copy batch script), since it's less intrusive for the engine, and it makes
"releasing" easier for localized applications (no need to create a ../raydium directory).

What about renaming the current "php update script" to a more general name, and make this script updating locales as well ? (instead of creating a new script ?)

Nevertheless, I think this issue (locale search path) is common to all Raydium targets. Currently, with Linux for instance, we force the path to be "locale/" (with bindtextdomain() function), but we should in fact let the gettext system doing it by its own. There's also some WIN32 specific hacks in mania_drive.c that should be moved somewhere into the engine. Application "domain" should be automatic (based on application name), etc.

Currently, ManiaDrive is the only localized Raydium application, so let's keep all this as-is until we really need a better gettext support.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:46 pm
Posts: 759
Hello,

Done in last windows sdk. Locale and php scripts are now in bin directory.

Have a nice day
Ouille


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group