Raydium 3D Game Engine

Official forum for everything about Raydium, ManiaDrive, MeMak, ...
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:39 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
I want to translate mania drive.
What method should i use?
gettext?
And how can i manage different bitmaps according the language?
I suppose all this should be included in a new group of raydium functions,right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2591
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
Not sure that it's the job of Raydium to handle i18n. There's currently no support for this,so we should try using gettext in ManiaDrive (another dependency :) ).

Wich textures are language dependent ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 9:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
because "Goal"(english) and "Meta"(spanish) and "But"(french) should be displayed correctly in the texture according the language selected, i think.
Just an example.
I think a good method to manage the language dependent texture should be in separate folders for each language, and the common textures should be in the parent of that folders.

Code:
app folder
------------texture folder
               -----------------ES
                                EN
                                FR
                                IT
                                ...

[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2591
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
Are you talking about checkpoints, start and finish barriers textures ?
If yes, I think we can keep this as is. If the whole GUI is translated, it's a very small problem, no ? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
i know is a bit of work, but i want to translate ALL mania drive to spanish (real text and textures).
And i would like to begin with this a way to implement multilanguage support in raydium (also related to locale textures)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 6:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2591
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
I really think that translating these three textures (that nobody reads) will only make things more complex (think about new environnements). But, hey, as you want ! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:27 am
Posts: 404
for menu, why not use xml files ?(if it's possible) and write the file name in a config file !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
i don't get it, batcox.
Can you explain a bit more your idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
Well i have a problem with the translation.
I'm using gettext for the simple text translation.

In mania_drive_es.c (a copy of the regular one) i have added the
Code:
#include <libintl.h>

and the
Code:
setlocale (LC_ALL, "");
bindtextdomain ("mania_drive", "./po");
textdomain ("mania_drive");


The translatable strings are using gettext( to avoid problems with _(

Well, then i execute
Code:
$ xgettext -d mania_drive -s -o po/mania_drive.pot mania_drive_es.c

And it generated mania_drive.pot in the po folder. Then i go to that folder and do a
Code:
msginit -l es

With that i get the es.po file. Then i edit that file manually and add the spanish translations.
After that, i do
Code:
msgfmt es.po

To generate the final messages.mo

At this point, i launch the game like usual
Code:
./odyncomp.sh mania_drive_es.c

But the words are still in english...
Someone with experience in gettext can tell me where is my error?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
just a refresh to this thread, i don't want this go down and be forgot.
I need a bit of help to continue with the spanish translation. I need that someone fix my current work about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2591
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
I'm not sure it's here you can found a support for gettext. You should try gettext mailing list if regular doc is not sufficient, no ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
I have commit 2 scripts for prepare the internationalization.
They create a locale folder and inside, all the files for each language.
Currently only spanish, french and italian are default.

Next step is to prepare the mania_drive.c internationalizated file, but...
Should i make a new files, like mania_drive_i18n.c, or you prefer to maintaing just one, the usual, file?

Until i upload the file (whatever its name) the scripts should not be used.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group