Raydium 3D Game Engine

Official forum for everything about Raydium, ManiaDrive, MeMak, ...
It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: texture compression?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
Has raydium texture compression? if yes, which type?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 2:53 am
Posts: 2590
Location: gnniiiii (Scrat)
Since commit 497, yes ! ;)

I've just added a new function (must be called before any texture loading, obviously) : "raydium_texture_compression(1)".
It's also possible to enable this with the "--compress" command line switch.

Compression level is somewhere between 2x and 4x, and I've a better framerate with this feature enabled ! (197 FPS vs. 206)

I can't enable this feature by default in the engine, since compression generates some very bad artefacts on normal maps:

Image

edit: compression choice is left to OpenGL driver, but the way Raydium ask it makes the driver to use almost eveytime S3TC (DXT5, I think).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 2:59 pm
Posts: 828
ok, thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group