Raydium 3D Game Engine

Official forum for everything about Raydium, ManiaDrive, MeMak, ...
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:16 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Raydium python bindings
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:26 pm 

I see that raydium has python bindings is there any api info or any info at with they exception to test.py?

Thanks Steve

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:31 pm 

Well, Python bindings are not really official ... There's a generator, tested time to time (gen_bindings.php), supposed to generate the Python module. The API is almost the same as in C.

I've just tested and updated Python bindings (it was broken, be sure to use rev 503). Ask here if you need more information about how to create and use all this.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:46 am 

Hmm ok well i am no python programmer my native lang is ruby.
Question i see that there are also php bindings that seam's very strange to me because php performance is poor even compared to ruby and ruby is poor compared to python.

Does php even make a good scripting lang for 3d games.
and if so is there any api docs on php or are they also almost exactly like the c api.
I know that sounds like a stupid question but i was actual shocked to see php bindings for a 3d game engine.

I wish i was a good c program because 1 wouldn't be asking all these questions about scripting languages and 2 i would just make bindings for ruby. But sadly thats not the case.

Thanks steve

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:18 am 

Well, a few thing about PHP :

- Performance are quiet good ! We talk here about an embedded language : a lot of native C function calls, a few if/else/for and that's all. No 3D calculation is done with PHP ;)